My Note To Self

Mr. Mraz's Japanese Class

April 27, 2004
Note To Self:

The funniest thing I�ve read in a long time�

�Japanese 101 with Professor Mraz

Let�s jump straight into conversation to see how these handy phrases make sense on the street. Pair up and read these aloud with your partner, alternating lines. When you get through, switch turns and practice the reenactment from the other person�s perspective. If you don�t have a partner, make up a silly voice to be the opposing character in the conversation.

Konnichi-wa! Good day!

Komban-wa! Good evening!

Genki datta? How�s it going?

Ammari. Okay, I guess.

Doka shita-no? What�s wrong?

Shigoto taihen isogashii. I�m really busy with work.

Taihen-dane. That�s a bummer.

So omou. I think so too.

Nihongo hanaso. Let�s talk in Japanese.

Demo, eigo sugoku jozu-ne. But your English is so good.

Nanka itte. Say something.

Nani ni-tsuite hanashiteru-no? What are you talking about?

Nyan-nyan. Cat meowing.

Mo ikkai itte. Say again?

Nani-mo ittenai-yo. I didn�t say anything.

Honto-ni? Are you sure?

Atama-ga fura-fura. My head feels dizzy.

Sugoi. Awesome.

Damaso-to shiteru desho! I think you are trying to trick me!

Kichigai! You�re crazy!

Konna-ni takai-wake nai! This can�t be so expensive!

Michi-ni mayotta. I�m lost.

Amerika-jin dakara? Is this because I�m an American?

Kore wa honto janai desho! This can�t be right!

Karaoke suki? Do you like karaoke?

Suwatte-mo-ii? May I sit down?

Tanoshimo-yo! Let�s party!

Yotteru? Are you drunk?

Tanoshii-yo. Yeah, I�m having fun.

Okutte ku-yo. I�ll take you home.

Kirei-na karada-dane. You have a beautiful body.

Shitteru. I know it.

Anata-ga hoshii. I want you.

Daijobu. It�s gonna be okay.

Kisu shite-mo ii? May I kiss you?

Atashi-wa anata-ni fusawashikunai-wa. I�m not good for you.

Gomu tsukeru. I�ll use a condom.

Hisashiburi. It�s been a long time.

Li kaori. You smell sweet.

Mo sugu deru. I�m leaving soon.

Zutto issho-ni itai. I wanna stay with you forever.

Tai-kara denwa suru. I�ll call you from Thailand.

Aishiteta. I loved you.

Sore-wa ato-de hanaso. Let�s talk about it later.

Nyan-Nyan! Nyan-Nyan! Cat meowing! Cat meowing!

Ki-o-tsukete-ne. Take care.

Tokoro-de, Nihon-no kekkon-shikitte ikura-karaku-no? By the way, how much does a Japanese wedding cost?

There, you�re good to go! Of course some of the variations relate specifically to masculine or feminine, but Mraz�s language course is designed to disassemble any barriers and better us into becoming one happy human species rather than remaining complicated with strict gender related rights or lack thereof currently�

Hope you enjoyed it as much as me!!

Listening to� �Curbside Prophet� by Jason Mraz

Person of the Day� Jason

8:48 AM :: comment ::
prev :: next